Dancing in the Streets

If you happened to hear the melodious sounds of the steel pan this weekend, it was probably coming from Toronto. Every year thousands of people gather in Toronto’s Lakeshore West neighbourhood for the biggest street party of the summer, The Scotia Bank Caribbean Carnival. Folks come from all over the world to take part in the festival. The handsome men and beautiful women decorate their bodies in glitter, bejeweled costumes and elaborate head-dresses, while whining their waists to the Soca and Calypso rhythms. Some of the larger costumes like the ones seen below, are very intricate and take months to make before the big reveal.IMG_0865

IMG_0856Can’t say I was in perfect form this weekend, as clean eating was not on the agenda. On the parade route, you just buy the delicious, delectable food that is available (and usually pretty high in fat.) However, it was a time to be free, have fun and enjoy life, so I felt just fine with giving myself a pass this weekend.

IMG_0872IMG_0867

IMG_0850IMG_0858IMG_0863IMG_0878

This glitter guy was a popular photo op
This glitter guy was a popular photo op
Victoria Secret angel wings seemed to be a popular theme this year.
Victoria Secret angel wings seemed to be a popular theme this year.

IMG_0883 It is a time to celebrate life, love and happiness as just for one day, a taste of the islands pay a visit up north.


10 thoughts on “Dancing in the Streets

  1. That looks like so much fun!! Oh and I love me some Caribbean cuisine! My mom has some Jamaican friends and I when I was little I always used to suggest they make peas and rice when we’d go over there for dinner.

    1. Oh peas and rice. Yumm. One of my favorite dishes, with some stew chicken and plantain. The parade was a lot of fun. You would have had your fill of good food.

Leave a comment